Poem: No Greater Promise

There’s no thorn or wish with greater promise
than a love that once like fire
burned the hearts it touched
–but now as wilting embers
join as one with the dust.

 

Finnish translation:

Ei ole oasta tai halua hienompaa lupausta,
kuin rakkaus, joka tulenlailla
poltti koskettamansa sydämet
nyt kuihtuvana hiilloksena yhtyy tomuun.

 

I felt that I had to try and improve my Finnish, so I tried translating the piece once I was done.
Here you have the poem both in its original form and translated.

Leave a Reply

